28 June 2021 to 2 July 2021
Europe/Vienna timezone

Innovation affecting CTBT: pertinent to IMS monitoring system (sensors)

29 Jun 2021, 17:15
1h 30m
Location 1 (Online)

Location 1



Ms Nurcan Meral Ozel (CTBTO Preparatory Commission, Vienna, Austria)


The CTBT IMS employs four monitoring technologies: seismology, infrasound, hydroacoustics and radionuclide (both particulate and noble gas). It is vital that the PTS stays abreast of new developments related to all sensor types to maintain its high-performance level, and network sustainability, in order to safeguard and improve the Treaty Verification capability. This panel will discuss new generation sensors that may already be available, and innovative efforts for future developments. Potential areas of discussion are networks of infrasound sensors, combination of rotational and directional seismic sensors, modular design hydroacoustic hydrophone stations, SMART underwater cables and sensors, fibre-optic seismometers and hydrophones, improved concepts for particulate radionuclide stations, new generation of noble gas stations.

Primary author

Ms Nurcan Meral Ozel (CTBTO Preparatory Commission, Vienna, Austria)


Mr Geoffrey Cram (University of Washington Seattle, WA, USA) Mr Guilhem Douysset (Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives (CEA), France) Mr Roger Waxler (National Center for Physical Acoustics, University of Mississippi, MS, USA) Mr Shuichi Kodaira (Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan) Mr Thomas Bruns (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, Germany)

Presentation materials