19–23 Jun 2023
Hofburg Palace & Online
Europe/Vienna timezone

High Performance Broadband Seismic Station Installations in the Caucasus and Central Asia

21 Jun 2023, 10:00


Board: 31
E-poster T4.2 Systems Engineering for International Monitoring System and On-Site Inspection Lightning talks: P2.5, P4.1, P4.2, P4.3


Robert Woodward (Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS))


The Seismic Network Expansion in the Caucasus and Central Asia (SNECCA) project began in 2019 to upgrade national seismic network capabilities in Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan. The United States participated in this collaboration with support from the U.S. Department of Energy and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. All six countries utilized a common design concept for broadband station installations. The design consisted of steel- or plastic-cased postholes (shallow boreholes) with above grade electronics to achieve a robust, secure station with a well installed sensor. The station design was based on the successful deployment and operation of several hundred stations in Alaska and western Canada as part of the U.S. National Science Foundation’s Transportable Array project. Station construction was adapted to the drilling capabilities and infrastructure available in each country. The design objective was to create low noise, robust, uniform stations that will operate reliably and securely, using a repeatable and consistent station construction and installation process. In this presentation we will cover the design concept, realizations of this concept achieved in each country, and preliminary data. The SNECCA project is implemented through the Seismic Targeted Initiative of the International Science and Technology Center and the Science and Technology Center in Ukraine.

Promotional text

A modern broadband seismic station design using sensors installed in shallow boreholes has been implemented in six different countries to improve national network capabilities by reducing noise and improving overall station performance and reliability.

E-mail [email protected]
Oral preference format in-person

Primary authors

Robert Woodward (Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS)) Dr Kasey Aderhold (Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS))


Molly Staats (Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS)) Katrin Hafner (Leidos) Andrea Chiang (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL)) Robert Busby (Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS)) Ms Rengin Gok (U. S. Department of Energy, National Nuclear Security Administration) Dr Tea Godoladze (Ilia State University) Ms Ana Aguiar (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL)) Ms Anna Berezina (Institute of Seismology, National Academy of Sciences of the Kyrgyz Republic) Kevin Mackey (Michigan State University (MSU)) Daniel Burk (Michigan State University (MSU)) Mr Josh Stachnik (Instrumental Software Technologies, Inc. (ISTI)) Hektor Babayan (Institute of Geological Sciences NAS RA, Armenia) Gevorg Babayan (Institute of Geological Sciences NAS RA, Armenia) Gurban Yetirmishli (Republic Seismic Survey Center of Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences) Beimbet Ashirov (Seismological Experimental and Methodological Expedition MES RK, Almaty, Kazakhstan) Sobit Negmatullaev (Geophysical Survey NAS RT, Dushanbe, Tajikistan) Natalya Mikhailova (National Nuclear Center of the Republic of Kazakhstan)

Presentation materials