19–23 Jun 2023
Hofburg Palace & Online
Europe/Vienna timezone

CTBTO Virtual Data Exploitation Centre (VDEC) as a Way to Access Data Collected by the International Monitoring System

20 Jun 2023, 09:00


Board: 41
E-poster T5.2 Synergies with Global Challenges Lightning talks: P1.3, P1.4, P5.2


Jolanta Kusmierczyk-Michulec (CTBTO Preparatory Commission)


Data collected by the International Monitoring System (IMS) represent four complementary technologies: seismic, hydroacoustic, infrasound and radionuclide. The main objective of acquiring IMS data is to detect and identify nuclear explosions on land, in the oceans, and in the atmosphere. However, the data are also extremely valuable for scientific studies e.g., to investigate the migration pattern and population density of marine mammals, or to track radiation on a global scale. These applications provide a benefit to the main purpose of detecting nuclear explosions by improving monitoring algorithms and our ability to discriminate between explosion signals and what is considered noise from the CTBT perspective. The vast amount of IMS data archived over two decades can be accessed via the virtual Data Exploitation Centre (vDEC). After signing a zero-cost vDEC contract (which contains legal requirements), scientists and researchers from many different disciplines and from around the globe, can get access to the IMS data to conduct research and to publish new findings. This presentation provides insights related to the vDEC platform and gives a statistical overview of all past and current scientific applications, including several examples of topics addressed with IMS data accessed under vDEC contracts.

Promotional text

How to get access to the IMS data for scientific purposes? VDEC

E-mail [email protected]

Primary authors

Jolanta Kusmierczyk-Michulec (CTBTO Preparatory Commission) Mr Remmy Phiri (CTBTO Preparatory Commission)


Mr Christos Saragiotis (CTBTO Preparatory Commission) Ms Megan Slinkard (CTBTO Preparatory Commission) Mr Pierrick Mialle (CTBTO Preparatory Commission) Mr Martin B. Kalinowski (CTBTO Preparatory Commission) Mr Tiago Oliveira (CTBTO Preparatory Commission) Mr Riche Laput (CTBTO Preparatory Commission)

Presentation materials