CTBTO Infrasound monitoring system

Infrasound monitoring is one of the three waveform technologies utilized by the CTBT (Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty) verification regime. The International Monitoring System (IMS) of the CTBT verification regime contains a global network of 60 infrasound stations, situated in 35 countries around the world. The infrasound station consists of 10 measurement points, each with one microbarometer and an array of steel pipes placed on the ground. Noise from wind masks the infrasound waves of interest to CTBT monitoring and is suppressed by the application of such pipes. A Central Recording Facility (CRF) supplies all sites with electric power through buried copper cables. Intra-array communication uses fiber optic cables. Each of the 10 sites has a power and fiber cable to the CRF. Data from this station are transmitted continuously in real time to the International Data Centre of the CTBTO in Vienna.

Primary author: ALHOMAIMAT, Murad (Jordan Seismological Observatory)

Presenter: ALHOMAIMAT, Murad (Jordan Seismological Observatory)

Track Classification: Sources and Scientific applications