ID: Type: Oral

4.1-O7. The influence of the CTBTO in the establishment of the seismological network of Namibia

The Seismological Network of Namibia consists of 7 operational broadband and single-phase seismic stations located across Namibia. It is a capital project funded wholly by the Government of the Republic of Namibia. Initiated by the Geophysics Division of the Geological Survey of Namibia to better understand the geo-environment, it is also used to develop a national archive, monthly event bulletin and a seismic hazard map. The Geophysics Division is responsible for the expansion, maintenance and management of the network. Although more stations are planned in future, seismic stations are located on average more than 500km apart and therefore significant challenges are faced with respect to event characterization, real-time data streaming and data availability. The network is operated and managed by a very small complement of staff responsible for installations, maintenance, repairs, configuration changes, waveform and event analyses and archiving. The staff involved with the network relies heavily on the advice, assistance and training of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty Organization. They also use their knowledge and training gained and gathered at the CTBTO to establish the seismic network and will be challenged in the coming years to integrate this network with the NDC of the IMS.

Primary author: TITUS, Nortin Peter-David (Geological Survey of Namibia)

Presenter: TITUS, Nortin Peter-David (Geological Survey of Namibia)

Track Classification: 4. Performance Optimization